Essay contest: BOWEN University medical student wins Toyota car




– We will build the next generation of leaders – Oyetola

Shina Abubakar, Osogbo

A medical student at BOWEN University in Osun State, Adeyemo Victor won the state independence essay competition and returned home with a Toyota Corolla car.

Victor won the graduate school category, while Miss Adegboyega Abisola Faith from Fakunle Comprehensive High School, Osogbo became the high school category winner,

It was then that the state governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, revealed that his administration is concerned with building the next generation of state leaders.

He described this concern as the motivation behind hosting the Osun State Government Essay Competition for Independence Day 2021.

Governor Oyetola, who was represented by his deputy, Benedict Alabi, at the grand final of the essay competition, organized by the state government to commemorate the 61st anniversary of the country’s independence, said: “This competition editorial team strongly recommends itself as a platform to stimulate excellence in our students. He charges them not only to be imaginative as active producers of ideas relevant to nation-building, but also to courageously ventilate such ideas unabashedly into the public space.

“What accompanies such an effort is the deliberate training of the mind to acquire the capacity required for healthy engagement in the face of societal challenges. This is the goal of all functional education.

“Since taking office, our administration has given priority to providing quality education to our young people. Indeed, we know that building a sustainably prosperous state requires strategic investment in our young people in a way that prepares them for the reality of a highly competitive global knowledge economy.

“It is the least we owe our young people, and we will not let them down,” Oyetola said.

In his welcoming speech, Regional Integration and Special Tasks Commissioner Lekan Badmus revealed that the ministry had received 700 applications from 34 participating schools in private and public higher education institutions across the country. Entries were also received from 23 local government areas of the state and also from non-natives.

According to Badmus: “Today our beloved state has brought together a large population of young people to reflect and suggest probable solutions to the challenges we face as a nation. To some people, this may not sound interesting, as the Osun State government thought out of the box and moved away from the conventional parade towards this assembly.

“You will agree with me that this initiative will promote the culture of reading and writing among our students. This gesture is dynamic, capable of encouraging healthy rivalry as well as intellectual competition between students in secondary and tertiary institutions. I thank Your Excellency for fueling this commendable program, ”he said.

In his opening speech, the president of the event, Lt. Gen. Lamidi Adeosun (rtd), congratulated the governor for giving students the opportunity to participate in the essay competition.

General Adeosun called the event a joy, adding that in a world where negative activities have become the norm, Osun State dared to organize such a difficult event.

He instructed the participants and the teeming young population of the state not to slacken their efforts to contribute to the development of the society, adding that education, security and other development needs of the state and the nation are a collective responsibility.

The winner of the first edition, Abosede Samson Oyinlola, praised Governor Oyetola’s administration for initiating the essay competition, describing it as a preparatory phase for future state leaders to begin to identify the issues facing the company is facing and come up with solutions.

After careful consideration of the last 25 applicants in the secondary and tertiary categories, the top three applicants who came out the winners were: Adegboyega Abisola Faith from Fakunle Comprehensive High School, Olaniyi Inioluwa Opeyemi from Ambassadors College Ile-Ife, and Onwugbofor Happiness from Our Lady and St. Francis College – for the secondary category.

The winners of the Higher Education Institutions category were: Adeyemo Victor Ayodeji from the University of Bowen, Ayoola Victor Oluwagbemiga from the University of Ibadan and Ademuyi Stella Jesuloluwa from the University of Adeleke, Ede.

The winners of the tertiary category, in addition to cash prizes, also won a Toyota Corolla car

Breaking News Nigeria


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.