UAE 1.2 Million Dirham Prize for Arabic Children’s Literature Announces Deadline for Nominations


Each of the five price categories carries a price of 180,000 Dh.
Image Credit: Provided

Sharjah: The “Etisalat Prize for Arabic Children’s Literature” of 1.2 million dirhams, organized by the United Arab Emirates Council on Children’s Books and sponsored by Etisalat Group, announced August 31 as the deadline for submission of nominations for its 13th edition.

The award encourages a culture of reading among children and youth by honoring the best Arabic works by authors, illustrators and publishers from the United Arab Emirates and around the world.

Authors, editors and illustrators of Arabic books for children and young adults can participate. Nominations must be submitted online by August 31 on the award website by 12:00 p.m. UAE time.

Award categories

The award is presented in five categories: Early Reader, targeting children up to 5 years old; Picture book for children aged five to nine; Chapter Book dedicated to children from 9 to 12 years old; Young Adult Book for adolescents from 13 to 18 years old; and comics for young people up to 18 years old.

Cash prize

Each category is rewarded with 180,000 Dh, divided equally between the publisher, the author and the illustrator, with the exception of the Books for young adults category, which is divided between the publisher and the author.

In addition, 300,000 Dh are allocated to the ‘Warsha’ program which organizes reward workshops for children’s books. The workshops aim to build the capacities of Arab peoples in writing and illustration, as well as to discover and nurture a new generation of Arab talents who meet international standards for writing for children and young adults.

An independent jury will assess the shortlisted entries and select the winners.

Eligible entries

The entry must be original, written in Arabic and not have been translated. It must be in print format and published by a publishing house or registered entity. Self-published books are not eligible. The book must be published within the past five years and may be co-authored by more than one writer.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.